Congrats to TOYM Class of 2015 (10 honorees) 



1. Raymond Abrea (Accounting and Finance)- tax wiz, incorporated the first social enterprise in tax advisory to help small and medium enterprises (SMEs), founded Center for Strategic Reforms of the Philippines which advocates SME development and genuine tax reform, now a think-tank used by Sen. Bam Aquino on tax reform bills for SMEs;


2. Sofronio Fortich Jr. (Arts/Music)- music director at Hong Kong Disneyland; former musical director for Trumpets; wrote two original musicals N.O.A. H (2008) and Bluebird of Happiness (2013); “Bluebird” was nominated for 2013 Gawad Buhay award and won “Best Music and Musical Direction” at Broadway World Awards; bagged “Walt Disney Legacy Award” in 2013 for excellent work in Hong Kong Disneyland


3. Nico Jose Nolledo (Business)- a former KFC worker turned IT billionaire; Ernst & Young’s “Entrepreneur of the Year” honoree in PH for 2015; one of the country’s youngest self-made billionaires who co-founded Xurpas (which listed in Dec. 2014) is now worth P25B (26 percent of which he owns, valuing his stake at P6.5B). Xurpas started in 2001 with a capitalization of only P62,500. He now helps other start-up tech enterprises as an angel investor.


4. Jose Ramon Aliling (Civil Engineering)- raised the bar in construction management by establishing standards for construction management and accreditation of contractors and suppliers to curb corruption, grew group’s portfolio from handling 5 projects at a time to 40 projects simultaneously; has managed and completed over P100B worth of projects; active in community service; green building advocate


5. Donald Patrick Lim (Community Development)- chief digital officer of ABSCBN; a thought leader on digital thinking, co-founder of IMMAP (Internet and Mobile Marketing Association of the Philippines); named as Young Global Leader by the World Economic Forum (Class of 2015); Agora Awardee for outstanding achievement in marketing communications; active in non-profit work


6. Geoffrey Brian Chua (Education)- assistant professor in Nanyang Business School in Singapore; scientist and educator; won the President Graduate Fellowship Award in NUS twice, the Research Excellence Award in NTU in 2011 & 2015, the Young Scholar and Best Theoretical Paper Awards (APORS Conference), and was selected as one of the emerging scholars (POMS Chicago); won Teaching Excellence Award in NTU (2014)


7. Patricia Evangelista (Journalism)- multi-media journalist at Rappler, has six international (including 2014 AFP Kate Webb prize), nine local journalism awards, good track record in various media formats; formerly Inquirer’s youngest columnist; champion debater in college


8. Michael Barney Almazar (Law/Legal Aid)- director at corporate-commercial department of Gulf Law in Dubai and UK and corporate secretary of the Philippine Business Council in Abu Dhabi; “Dubai 2015 Lawyer of the Year (first Filipino),” devotes legal practice to protect migrant workers in the Middle Least; heads monthly free legal aid clinic at PH embassy and consulate; published “The Essential OFW Guide to UAE;” has helped 100 OFWs become successful entrepreneurs in Dubai, assembled repatriation with livelihood programs


9. Roderick Salenga (Public Health) -pharmacist, national professional officer at WHO Philippines, youngest recipient of The Outstanding Pharmacist (TOP) award (2012) given by PH Pharmacists Association; leads programs for essential medicine and health technologies; associate professor at UP College of Pharmacy; International Pharmaceutical Federation scholar; founding chair of Young Pharmacists Group-PH; founding vice chair of Asian Young Pharmacists Group; advocate of patient safety 


10. Rogelio Santos (Social Entrepreneurship) – entrepreneur, inventor of “Butterfly Homes”, community organizer, doing innovative nanomolecular research and clinical studies in the field of Alzheimer’s and other diseases; one of top 26 entrepreneurs of New Jersey (NJBiz and Ernst & Young) for work in developing outsourcing opportunities for PH’s the co-founder of Amylex, he is doing innovative nanomolecular research and clinical studies in the field of Alzheimer’s and other diseases, organization pioneers new medical technology
This year’s judges: SC Assistant Justice Teresita de Castro; Justice Secretary Leila de Lima, Dr. Enrique Ona, Lance Gokongwei, Ryan Cayabyab, Eugene Torre, William Dar 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s